Live Like We’re Dying…

My daughter had a soccer game this morning. It was one of those perfect fall mornings where the leaves radiated orange, pink, red and pale green. The wind held that crispness in it and the sun streamed from a sky full of thin clouds.

She had to be on the field 45 minutes early, so after I dropped her off I went on search for a cup of coffee. I found myself in line behind a young man in military camouflage obviously readying himself for a day of service. He was buying a Mountain Dew, Jolt, chips – you get the picture. I gave him some good-natured ribbing about eating healthy, and he laughed and then said something that took my breath away. He said, “You know, it doesn’t seem to really matter when you know you may die tomorrow.”

I had no come back. When were leaving I simply said, “I hope you don’t die today.” I meant it.

A friend forwarded to me Steve Jobs commencement address at Stanford several years ago. In it he foreshadowed his own death by acknowledging that he had always lived with the motivation of something to the effect that if he knew he were to die tomorrow, would he be living as he is today.

Am I living that way?

“Here’s to the crazy ones, the misfits, the rebels, the troublemakers, the round pegs in the square holes… the ones who see things differently — they’re not fond of rules… You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify or vilify them, but the only thing you can’t do is ignore them because they change things… they push the human race forward, and while some may see them as the crazy ones, we see genius, because the ones who are crazy enough to think that they can change the world, are the ones who do.” Steve Jobs, 1955-2011

Here’s till the next time and living like we’re dying…

One thought on “Live Like We’re Dying…

Leave a Reply

